The Fletcher Farm School for the Arts and Crafts is owned and operated by the Society of Vermont Artists and Craftsmen, Inc., a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization. It is the oldest residential arts and crafts school in Vermont.
All students are welcome on campus, regardless of religious affiliation, national or ethnic origin.
About the Campus
Our School operates year-round. From September to May, only one building on campus is heated, and the two rooms in that building are used to hold classes on weekends.
From June to August, we operate seven days a week. We have access to a total of nine classrooms. While we have residential rooms, they are not open to the public this season.
Taking Classes Here
The atmosphere on our campus is casual. Our classes are intended to be an intensive, but relaxing experience. Class sizes are kept deliberately small so that each student receives individual attention. Classes run from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. for adults and 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. for children.
If required, you will receive a supply list with your class confirmation. Supply lists are provided from the instructors to specify all supplies that you should bring with you to class.
The materials fee covers any supplies or tools that your instructor provides for your use in class, and is paid directly to the instructor at the beginning of class. The materials fee is shown along with the tuition fee in our brochure and on our website.
Arrival and Check-In
The Administration office is located on the lower level of the Meadowview Building (the building at the back of the lawn on the hill).
Office Hours: Monday, Wednesday, and Friday: 10:00a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Dining on Campus
Students may purchase lunch from office staff, or from the staff member who circulates to each classroom. Food is delivered to each classroom. Cold drinks are available during the day from the refrigerator in the barn or in the refrigerator in the Meadowview room (pay on the honor system), and picnic tables are available throughout the campus. No meals available during the Fall, Winter and Spring sessions.
You are welcome to bring your own lunch, however, if it needs to be refrigerated, bring a personal cooler.
We are not offering on-campus lodging at this time. Instead, you may choose from a number of local inns, bed and breakfasts, and motels. The Golden Stage Inn, just down the road in Proctorsville, offers a 25% discount for a stay of two or more nights.
Also, The Pointe at Castle Hill is offering special rates for Fletcher Farm School students: regular rooms are $69 mid-week and $99 on weekends; suites (with 1 king-size bed, a sofa bed, and a kitchen) are $99 mid-week and $149 on weekends.
For both of these inns, please mention that you are a student at Fletcher Farm School to receive the special rates.
In accordance with state laws, there is no smoking allowed in any building or elsewhere on campus.
Pets other than service animals are not allowed on campus. There are other local establishments that welcome pets for an additional charge. Check with Office staff for help in identifying these.
Waiver of Liability
As a condition of enrolling in courses at the Fletcher Farm School for the Arts and Crafts, participants and instructors agree to assume all risk for personal injury or loss of or damage to personal property. Students and instructors further agree that they will not hold the Fletcher Farm School for the Arts and Crafts or the Society of Vermont Artists and Craftsmen, Inc. responsible or liable for any personal injuries that may be suffered, or theft of or damage to any personal property that may occur.
A once-per-year non-refundable registration fee of $25 (valid January 1 through December 31) is required with your first adult class registration. The one-time fee for children’s classes is $5. This amount is included in your first registration each year. Although it is included in each class’s price, our office staff will remove the registration fee from registrations subsequent to the first before processing your payment.
Cancellation and Refund Policies
If the School cancels a class, we will notify students at least 10 days prior to the start of class (except for an emergency arising just before the class is scheduled). Tuition will be refunded, or the student can elect for the tuition to be used to provide a tuition credit* toward a future class.
If the student cancels his or her registration at least 10 business days before a class, the student will receive a tuition credit* for the full value of the registration, minus a $50 cancellation fee. If the student cancels his or her registration with less than 10 days’ notice, no refund or tuition credit will be provided. We are not responsible for non-refundable transportation or lodging costs. There is no cash refund for any reason. We sympathize when circumstances arise that prevent a student from attending, but we must make commitments to our instructors and other students.
*Tuition credit is awarded on a days-registered basis. For example, if the canceled class was two days, your tuition credit will pay for two days of another class of your choice. Credits will be honored up to December 31 of the year following which they were issued.